Fonte del Maltempo

Fonte del Maltempo

Corso Garibaldi, Cingoli

The Fonte del Maltempo is an elegant public structure of the Middle Ages. It is one of the most important and well-known buildings of the city of Cingoli.

Already mentioned with the same name in 1513, it was restored with the current structure in 1568 by the Lombard brothers, protégés of the Sansovino.

The structure recalls the shape of a small altar more than a fountain, and the enigmatic symbolism of its central pattern (the deer alluding to the municipal coat of arms; the tree and the spring that flows on the bottom), partly modified during later renovations, makes it one of the most fascinating and suggestive examples of medieval art of Cingoli and more.

An even more enigmatic poem is traditionally linked to the fountain. The rhyming couplet in blank verse recites: “Chi beve alla Fonte di Maltempo / Torna a Cingoli ogni tanto tempo” (Who drinks from the Fonte di Maltempo comes back to Cingoli once in a while).

La web app Cuore di Marche è frutto della passione e dell’impegno degli autori.
Aiutaci a migliorarla, scrivendoci le tue impressioni:

The Cuore di Marche web app is the result of the passion and commitment of the authors.
Help us improve it by writing your impressions: